poetry

Cliché of the Heart, Take Two

A couple of weeks ago, I blogged about my problems with “the heart” in poems, or rather, using it in my poetry. Yesterday, I came across a lovely poem in a set of three by Jane Hirshfield and find it to be the perfect poem in using the heart as a metaphor and effectively tying in emotion without sounding too sentimental.  It slays “the heart” as a cliché in poetry.

SOMETIMES THE HEART IS A SHALLOW AUTUMN RIVER by Jane Hirshfield (It is last poem on the page.)

I can’t wait to read Hirshfield’s new collection Come, Thief.

What are you reading?

2 thoughts on “Cliché of the Heart, Take Two

  1. Oh that is lovely. I'm a Hirshfield fan, too. I just ordered Rookery by Traci Brimhall after stumbling upon four of her poems on line at Passages North. Wow. How have I missed her until now?

Leave a Reply

