Uncategorized

Dream Postcard

Postcard from Malaya 1948
I love getting snail mail. A postcard or two in my mailbox can light up my week. There’s something about someone taking the few minutes to scribble out a note to say to someone else “I’m thinking of you” that just sets the world right.

D. A. Powell shared 15 Postcards from Famous Authors via The Booksmith yesterday. Among them are postcards from F. Scott Fitzgerald to himself, Rainer Maria Rilke to Hedwig Fischer, and Allen Ginsberg to Ed White.

All these postcards got me thinking about who I’d like to receive a postcard from, and the answer came quickly: Naomi Shihab Nye and Junot Díaz.

Is there a writer or two you’d love to receive a postcard from?

P.S. If you’re a postcard lover too, Hoot Review is a literary magazine in the form of a postcard!

9 thoughts on “Dream Postcard

  1. Oh, such a difficult question!! I have several, mostly dead, but I think out of all of them, I’d like to receive a post card from Raymond Carver– but not as a stranger– as if I were somebody very close to him, so much so that the post card almost seemed like code. I dunno. Is that weird?

  2. I’d dig a postcard from Junot Díaz as well, along with Jacqueline Woodson. Ooh and Toni Morrison…and if Octavia Butler could send me one too – I’d be spooked by it – I’d be happy to receive it.

Leave a Reply

