Weekly Wrap-up

Weekly Wrap-up

I’m saddened by the devastation caused by Hurricane Sandy/Frankenstorm, and I’ve only witnessed it through photographs and videos. I’m thinking of and praying for those affected. Join me in volunteering and/or donating to help Hurricane Sandy victims. Animal lovers can adopt displaced pets.

Registration for AWP’s 2013 Conference has been extended through Monday, November 5th. Have you registered yet? I hope to meet you there.

The Fall issue of River & Sound Review is out. They always add a touch of humor to each issue, and I love this new one: Andrew Davie’s story The Solitude of Fortress. If you love superheroes, this is a read for you.

I read the poem Darling by Naomi Shihab Nye in her collection Fuel recently. I had to share it with you.

Cheryl Strayed is interviewed over at The Happiness Project. What simple activity makes you happy?

Clifford Garstang’s 2013 Pushcart Literary Magazine Rankings for fiction, nonfiction, and poetry are now up.

Happy writing to all you #novpad and #NaNoWriMo writers out there!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up

  1. Thanks for the wrap-up and the information, Andrea.

    Naomi Shihab Nye’s work is amazing, isn’t it? There has not been one poem of her’s that I’ve read that hasn’t toppled me.

    Saw your response re: novpad on previous post and yes, I’ve figured out that just getting a draft down counts. 😉

    • Thanks for reading, Val.

      Yes, Naomi Shihab Nye is my favorite living poet. I’d love to hear her read one day.

      Hope your #novpad is going well!

Leave a Reply

