Uncategorized / Weekly Wrap-up

Weekly Wrap-up

Zenith Z-19 Terminal
Turn your screen retro with this application. Ah, the nostalgia.

Seven holiday crafts to make with books — I think I’m going to try the book stack tree.

Michael Nye shared this on Twitter this week: Lines from The Princess Bride that Double as Comments in a Creative Writing Workshop. My favorite: “You mock my pain.”

Gandalf the Great Grey Owl watches the world go by – see him for yourself.

The Fall 2012 issue of Superstition Review is out. Lots of good stuff. Check out this poem by Michael Schmeltzer: A Spell Against a Violent Spouse.

If you’ve been using Duotrope to track your submissions and research literary magazines, there’s a big change coming on January 1st: you’ll have to pay to subscribe. They did warn us this could happen. You can pay $5 per month, or an annual fee of $50. Will you pay to continue to use this service? I think a $25 to $30 fee would be a little more reasonable.

Any other cool links to share?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up

  1. I’m thinking over Duotrope. The fifty dollar price point seems steep, I agree closer to $30 would be more reasonable and probably net them more subscribers. And from a PR standpoint, December was a pretty bad time to make such a big change with 30 days notice. I don’t have time to think this through this time of year, you know? I think they’ll lose some potential subscribers just from the “I can’t deal with this right now” factor. I have exported my submissions tracker already, so when the inevitable time crunch hits, I won’t forget and lose my data.

    • I agree, Jennifer. Among all the other things going on during this time of year, I don’t want to think about it either. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

  2. Loved all the links!

    Don’t love the Duotrope news. Super bad time of year to do this, and yeah, fifty bucks? What’s so sad is that more people haven’t been donating to keep it going and it has had to come to this. I have donated several times, and I’m seriously broke 99% of the time– makes me kinda mad.

    • Thanks, Val!

      I’ve donated too, as I’ve feared it coming to this, and Duotrope helps me stay organized. We’ll see what happens over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

