life

Learning Lessons

It’s been a sad December. I haven’t much had the time for reading, writing, and reflection, and when I do, I think about the horrific school shooting at Sandy Hook or the firemen who lost their lives in the line of duty in New York. While I haven’t been writing much, I’ve been doing a lot of praying.

Then yesterday, I came across Natalia Sylvester’s post “12 Random Things I Learned in 2012” and what she had written in the number 3 slot really hit me:

Where you search for meaning is not always the same place you find it.

Thank you, Natalia, for your moving post yesterday. It was just what I needed to find, even though I wasn’t necessarily searching for it. It made me hopeful and reminded me of the power and resilience of the human spirit.

Another thing that really hit me as I spent time with family and loved ones over the holidays:

Spend each moment with the people you hold close as if it were your last.

 

Where have you found meaning you weren’t exactly searching for this month? What’s something you’ve learned in 2012?

6 thoughts on “Learning Lessons

  1. I think I’ve learned a lot of things in 2012. Some that I’m conscious of, some that I’m not. I learned that it’s better to forgive than hold a grudge, and that you can reconnect with a parent, even if you have been estranged for nearly a decade.

  2. I really like the one, “There’s a very big difference between being patient and waiting for something to happen.”

    I would say I’ve learned to love more and worry less. When I lead with my heart instead of my head, miracles unfold. Another I’ve learned is the famous, “wherever you go there you are.” That really taught me a lot as I traveled throughout Europe this summer. I also learned to laugh more. Again, if I let my mind melt and let things go, I find I’m happier and those around me are too.

    Thanks for encouraging me to reflect on the year’s lessons. I’ve sure had many.

    And Evelyn, you’re lessons learned above are wonderful. Ah, forgiveness, one I’m constantly re-learning 😉

    • I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to comment. Thanks again for your post. I look forward to reading more from you in 2013! All best to you in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

