poetry / poetry action plan / Uncategorized

A Poetry Action Plan for 2013

Poet Jennifer Saunders has introduced me to January Gill O’Neils Poetry Action Plan where you really ask yourself what’s important to you as a writer and then set realistic goals you’ll track throughout the year. Today, I implement the following goals for 2013:

1. I know I posted this in my last blog post, but I have to post it again. I’m starting a new notebook where I’ll write three lines per day. Thank you, Naomi.

2. Write a poem a week. Yep, I should have 52 poems at the end of this year.

3. Read 2 poetry collections and one fiction/nonfiction book per month. Subscribe to a new literary magazine. I’m already subscribed to Poetry, Rattle, Weave, Ploughshares, and The Southwest Review.

4. Volunteer at the library or a local organization that supports literacy in my community.

5. Brush up on my Spanish. Rosetta Stone isn’t going to feel lonely anymore. I need to read more translations and want to be able to read them in both of my languages.

6. Begin a low-residency MFA program. The applications are in, and I pray that I’m chosen to attend and begin a program this summer.

What are your goals for the coming year? What are you looking forward to?

Wishing you a happy and positive 2013, Andrea

19 thoughts on “A Poetry Action Plan for 2013

    • Thanks, Rachel. I applied to VCFA, Drew, Sierra Nevada, Stonecoast, Warren Wilson, and NMSU. I’ll keep you posted. I’m working on Rainier now too.

      Happy New Year!

      • Sorry – just catching back up to comments. Drew! I want to do Drew’s program – I have been to some of their readings, and they are always stellar. Let me know if you end up at Drew – it’s only about 1.5 hours from where I live!

      • I have pretty much decided to hold off for now. Some non-poetry life stuff has come up that really requires my full attention, so I’m going to take it easy for now. But ultimately, I think yes, I still want to do an MFA. Just not sure exactly when.

  1. attend /take part in more readings. Help other writers get out there and with open mics. Find new magazines and reviews to enjoy. Best of luck with all of yours especially the MFA!

  2. Those are great goals.

    Pertaining specifically to your wonderful post about the poetry action plan above, mine is to publish more haiku and haibun this year.

    As far as my overall resolution:
    love more
    worry less

    Sending you blessings.

  3. Those are some great goals! Good luck on all of those. You’ve already seen my goals, but I also might follow you on the Spanish thing. I spent a month in Spain last year, and it was really interesting reading translations of poets like Miguel Hernandez and Lorca. I might think about trying to read them in the original language too. Thanks for the idea!

    • Thanks! I’m not sure. Deadlines are Feb and March, so hopefully sometime in March or April. I’ll keep you posted!

  4. Great list, Andrea! Good luck with the MFA! I’ve started the year with a month of small stone poems. In April, I will probably do one or two poem a day challenges. I still have October’s from Southeast review to go back to. And I am enrolled in three courses through to the end of summer. That should be plenty. I will, however, try to read a book of poems each week. Need to make a dent in those piles and piles of books!

  5. Pingback: The Smell of the Paint | Andrea Beltran

    • I’ll be posting my goals 2014 plan soon and think I need to prioritize the one poem a week goal. I fell behind a little. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

