AWP / books

My #AWP13 in Pictures, Part Uno

Boston, MA snow

I made it to Boston just before the snow storm hit. Snow only heightened the exhilaration I felt at my first AWP Conference ever.

Some excellent reads from the book fair:

Chapbooks from Accents Publishing and Sibling Rivalry Press

Chapbooks from Accents Publishing and Sibling Rivalry Press

Sarah Freligh gave me the biggest, warmest hug. Jessie Carty and I finally got to meet in real life and we shared coffee, walks, book fair purchases, and noodles. I read the above chapbooks in one sitting! This is the only time I was grateful for such a long flight back home to El Paso.

Books from Modern History Press, Diode Editions, Mud Luscious Press, Cleveland State University Poetry Center, and Graywolf Press

Books from Modern History Press, Diode Editions, Mud Luscious Press, Cleveland State University Poetry Center, and Graywolf Press

I can’t wait to sit down with these books. I attended a reading by Gregory Sherl and a few more authors from YesYes Books. (Insert exclamation points here.) I’m happy I was able to hear Greg read because it got really loud in that little piece of bar we were in shortly thereafter. After this reading, I realized I need to read pretty much everything I haven’t read yet from YesYes Books. 

I’m leaving on a jet plane and think The Oregon Trail is The Oregon Trail will be my travel companion.

I had a good part of Sunday morning to explore and happened upon the Cranes in Copley Square. What a memorable way to close out this trip. I’m thankful to sweet Sophia who taught me how to make a paper crane and was patient with me as my cold and shivering hands fumbled to make decent folds in the paper.

Paper crane

Stay tuned for a food and panel wrap-up. I have two more readings I want to write about too. I have three words for you: Lobster grilled cheese. OK, two more: Clam chowder.

2 thoughts on “My #AWP13 in Pictures, Part Uno

Leave a Reply

