AWP / food / Uncategorized

My #AWP13 in Pictures, Part Dos

Room service at the Hilton Back Bay

Lobster grilled cheese with a side of clam chowder

I gave in and ordered room service. I think it was my first day of AWP. I was physically and mentally exhausted. This saved the day! And speaking of lobster, this post needs a poem, so cue “Maine Seafood Company” by Matthew and Michael Dickman.

*Note: This is the best clam chowder I’ve ever tasted. Thank you, Boston.

*Note: I ordered this twice.

Crumbs' cupcake and coffee

One of the best things about AWP was the Crumbs cupcake counter right outside the entrance to the convention center. I had to pass this counter every day. As you can tell from my photo, I caved one afternoon. Raspberry cream cheese was her name. And I drank copious amounts of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. I needed it.

Breakfast at Trident Booksellers and Cafe

Trident Booksellers and Cafe  saw me twice. The first time was lunch and this magnificent sandwich on two mounds of Texas toast and cranberry dressing. The second time was for my favorite breakfast of Eggs Benedict and the added surprise was the avocado on the underside of the ham. Oh my, my, my. And I loved this bookstore!

Dunkin' Donuts - Coffee and a Boston Creme donut

The last day. I still hadn’t had my dose of Boston Creme Pie, but it’s just one more reason to go back, right? I settled for more Dunkin’ coffee and one of their Boston Creme Pie donuts while I sat in front of this window in my room watching this amazing city and writing in my journal.

All in all, I consumed many calories, but none that I regret. I also had a melt at the infamous Bukowski Tavern, enjoyed a lovely dinner with Jessie Carty, Rose Auslander, and Rose’s husband at Wagamama, and consumed entirely too many cranberry lemon scones from Trader Joe’s. I’m ready for Seattle next year!

Leave a Reply

