poetry / Poetry Pairings

Serendipitous Poetry Pairing

20130821-140219.jpg

I was handed an August event calendar this past Sunday. It’s been resting in the passenger seat of my car. Today, the a/c blew it to the floor and it landed upside down.

Someone had drawn on the back of my calendar. They drew a smiling sun. Then I realized one of the sun’s rays was colored in, but only one. Curious, I picked it up to examine it, and realized it wasn’t a ray–it was a mohawk. Ha.

I’m thankful for the child who brought their sun to me today, most especially for his or her creative spirit behind the sun.

And now for the poem that pairs perfectly with this sun:

Even
After
All this time
The Sun never says to the Earth,

“You owe me.”

Look
What happens
With a love like that,
It lights the whole sky.

– Hafiz

2 thoughts on “Serendipitous Poetry Pairing

Leave a Reply

