Uncategorized

Carcacha, paso a pasito

Today we celebrate César Chávez’s birthday. I was delighted to hear on the news this morning that UTEP and El Paso Community College are closed today in observance of César Chávez Day. Next year, I will take off work and spend more time celebrating his legacy.

Read César Chávez’s “Prayer of the Farm Worker’s Struggle”

Tu Libro shared the documentary The Fight in the Fields: César Chávez and the Farmworker’s Movement

The 9/12 Generation Project has some great resources on teaching about César Chávez

Today marks twenty years since Selena’s death. I’m working on an essay about her influence on my life when I was about 10 years old. Last night, my brother and I reminisced about how I used to make music videos and sing her songs like “El Toro Relajo.”

Remezcla‘s 15 Ways to Remember and Honor Selena Quintanilla

Fusion’s How Selena’s #1 impersonator beat the bigots (via Saeed Jones on Twitter)

Selena’s dad: Mixed Feelings about fan’s marking start’s death from El Paso Times

FlowerSong Press is working on a Selena anthology–follow them on Facebook for updates

Latino Rebels rounds up favorite Selena songs complete with their official videos

I’d love to hear anything else you’d like to share about César Chávez and Selena!

Leave a Reply

