poetry / Uncategorized

What Do You Want in a Speaker?

Grebe CR-9 Radio

This weekend I typed away at an essay about a poetry collection that inflamed me. This book made me question the tie between poet and speaker. I started thinking about the kind of poet I want to be. I mused about the responsibility of a poet and the authenticity of a poem’s speaker.

In Best Words, Best Order, Stephen Dobyns writes “Art helps to take us out of our isolation by showing us the commonality of our feelings, by precisely reflecting our emotional and spiritual life, by showing us how we resemble one another, by creating links between human beings and also perhaps by showing the responsibility we bear each other.” I want to read poetry that reflects this responsibility. I want to create poetry that builds community and never isolates it.

What do you want in a speaker? What do you strive to do as a writer?

7 thoughts on “What Do You Want in a Speaker?

  1. Pingback: The Words We Use | Andrea Beltran

Leave a Reply

