poetry / Uncategorized

The Words We Use

clouds and barn (hdr)

Last week, I wrote about the authenticity of a speaker in a poem. This week, I want to bring you a poem whose speaker rings true. This poem builds community, and as Stephen Dobyns writes, “take[s] us out of our isolation by showing us the commonality of our feelings.”

Ada Limón’s poetry is just lovely. Her words never fail to move me. She never fails me with her poetry. I’m thankful for this poem.

No. I believe in this connection we all have
to nature, to each other, to the universe.
Read Ada Limón’s full poem What It Looks Like To Us and the Words We Use up this week at American Life in Poetry.
Leave a Reply

